Skip to main content
Safety & privacy controls

Content controls

On TikTok, the For You feed reflects preferences unique to each person. Content controls help you manage the videos you see in-app.

These settings may vary depending on your region and version of the app.  

Restricted Mode

If you’d like to limit content with a broader brushstroke, you can turn on Restricted Mode. Restricted Mode is an option at the account settings level that limits the appearance of content that may not be appropriate for all audiences. Restricted Mode can always be turned off, so if you find yourself missing videos you want to see, you can switch it back whenever you like. Restricted Mode is also one of the features that a parent or caregiver can turn on when Family Pairing is enabled. Learn more

Manage the content you see by adjusting your For You feed

The more you use TikTok, the better tailored your For You feed will be to your interests – so the best way to curate your For You feed is to simply use and enjoy the app. When you decide to follow new accounts, for example, that action will help refine your recommendations, as will exploring hashtags, sounds, effects, and trending topics on the Discover tab.

Sometimes you may come across a video that isn’t quite to your taste. You can simply long-press on a video and tap Not interested to indicate that you don’t care for a particular video. You can also choose to hide videos from a given creator or made with a certain sound, or report a video that seems out of line with our guidelines. All these actions contribute to future recommendations in your For You feed. Learn more

Report videos, sounds, hashtags, or other content

If you see something that you think might violate our Term of Service or Community Guidelines, please report it so our moderation team can review and take appropriate action. You can report a specific video, livestream, user, direct message, or comment directly within the app itself. To report, simply long press the video. A pop-up will appear. Select Report and follow the outlined steps. Learn more

Screen Time Management

To help you manage your digital well-being, we offer a Screen Time Management feature that helps you decide how much time you’d like to spend on the app each day. With this feature turned on, you will need to enter a passcode to continue using TikTok past the time limit you’ve set. Learn more