Tools

Promoting a positive app environment where everyone feels safe and comfortable is our top priority. Learn more about the settings that let you control your TikTok experience.

  • Choosing to make your account private allows you to approve or deny followers and restrict your uploaded content to followers only. Learn how

  • Even with a private account, note that your profile information – including profile photo, username, and bio – will be visible to all users. Please do not include personal information in your profile; you can be sure your profile is online-ready by editing your profile page. Learn how

  • Enabling Restricted Mode is an option at the account settings level to limit the appearance of content that may not be appropriate for all audiences. Learn how

  • Sometimes it’s helpful to have a limit on the amount of time spent online. With Screen Time Management enabled, we’ll help hold you to 2 hours on the app. Learn how

  • It’s a good idea to choose a strong password for any online account, protect your password from things like third-party sites, and make sure to use different passwords for different services. If you notice suspicious behavior indicating your TikTok account may have been compromised, you can change your password or contact us for help. Learn how

  • Duets can be a fun way to create videos with another user, but you’re in control: we give you the option to decide who can make duets with you (everyone, no one, or just friends). Learn how

  • Who do you want to be allowed to comment on your videos? You decide! Learn how

  • If you come across a video with content you particularly don’t like, you can long-press on the video to show your preference and be shown less of that sort of video in the future. Learn how

  • With a private account, only users you’ve approved as followers can see your content, but you can also choose to make a specific video private. Private videos are visible only to you, and you can select this setting when you originally upload the video – or by later making an uploaded video private. Learn how

  • If you see something that might violate our Terms of Service, please report it so our moderation team can review and take appropriate action. You can report a specific video, livestream, user, or comment right within the app itself. Learn how

  • A private account lets you approve or deny incoming follower requests, but even with a public account you can control who can send you messages. Learn how

  • You can also permanently block another user from being able to view your content or send you messages. Learn how

  • If you feel someone is harassing you or otherwise being inappropriate, please report them so our moderation team can review and take appropriate action. Learn how